UNFSS Academic Advisory Council Meeting 2023

12 October 2023

European University Institute, Florence

Building a Sustainable Future for Trade: A Multi-Dimensional Assessment of VSS in Global Sustainability Governance and Due Diligence for developing countries.

The 2023 Academic Advisory Council meeting will be held within the premises of the World Trade Forum (WTF), of which a plenary and parallel session organized by UNFSS and IDOS will be held during this forum. The World Trade Forum is an annual event co-organised by the World Trade Institute and the European University Institute each autumn to discuss a topic related to the world trading system. The 2023 World Trade Forum will take place on 13-14 October 2023. It will bring together trade policy researchers and practitioners to discuss recent developments in global trade and investment.

Participation in the Academic Advisory Council meeting does not guarantee a spot in the World Trade Forum, which is an event open to public. To register for the World Trade Forum, please visit: World Trade Forum | WTI


UNFSS in the World Trade Forum,

13-14 October 2023

Friday, 13th October



Plenary II: Balancing Trade and Non-Trade Concerns? Environmental challenges in times of geopolitical tensions

[Description TBD]



José Valencia (Permanent Representative of Ecuador & Chair,
WTO Committee on Trade and Environment)


  1. [[Bettina Meinhart/Immaculada Martínez-Zarzoso]], Trade and the environment in PTAs: Economic and environmental effects
  2. Clara Brandi & Jakob Schwab, (IDOS & University of Bonn), Trade and non-trade issues in PTAs: Environmental outcomes in the agricultural sector
  3. Magdalene Silberberger (Witten/Herdecke University), Trade and the environment beyond PTAs
  4. Ilaria Espa (WTI) Green industrial policy and the trade regime in light of geopolitical challenges


Plenary III: Sustainability Standards, Due Diligence and Developing Countries

[Description tbc]



Santiago Fernandez De Cordoba (UNCTAD)


  1. Mercedes Araoz (Universidad del Pacifico)
  2. Archna Neri (Jawaharka Nehru University)
  3. Axel Marx (KU Leuven)
  4. Elisabeth Tuerk, (UNECE)
  5. Joe Wozniak (ITC)